About Us

ASCLS-IL is an affiliate society of the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS) and one of five states in ASCLS Region VI, which also includes Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska.

ASCLS is the preeminent voice of all clinical laboratory professionals, creating a vision for the advancement of the clinical laboratory practice field, and advocating the value and the role of the profession ensuring safe, effective, efficient, equitable, and patient-centered health care.

Advocacy for our Laboratorians

Our primary goal is to advocate for our profession and our patients. We do this by representing the interests of the clinical laboratory and affiliated professions and members of the Society in all government and other forums that affect these interests and being involved in national and state legislation and promoting licensure for all medical laboratory professionals.


We want to provide educational opportunities to students, future students, non-laboratory professionals and patients.

Current Leadership

Officers                                   Board Members

President – A.Gazder/K. Pesavento        (2023-2024)  Michelle Campbell
President-Elect – Diana DeAvila             (2023-2024)  Wendy Norton
Past President – Kristen Pesavento        (2023-2024) Gilma Roncancio              
Secretary – Diana DeAvila                      (2022-2023) Ahn Strow                      
Treasurer – Toula Castillo                            
                                                  Developing Professional Chair- Elizabeth Serrano
                                                  Ascending Professional Chair- Dioco Reyes

Representatives at large

Kate Bernhardt

Nicholas Steder

Standing Committee members

Annual Meeting Coordinator Toula Castillo & Kristen Pesavento Membership Development Alysia Gazder/Izabel Zwolen
Awards Diana DeAvila Nominations Kate Bernhardt/Kristen Pesavento
Bylaws PACE Administrator Alexandra Vardouniotis 
Communications Darby Naheedy    
Education Promotion of the Profession
Finance Publications Michelle Campbell & Kim Espejo
Government Affairs Website Administrator Nicholas Steder

SCientific Assembly chairs

Chemistry/Urinalysis Informatics
Education Laboratory
Generalist Microbiology/Public Health
Hematology/Hemostasis Molecular
Immunology/Immunohematology Point of Care/Phlebotomy



Made with Visme